Congratulations new SustainRT leaders!

On behalf of the SustainRT Board, it is our pleasure to congratulate the winners of the SustainRT elections. Beginning after the 2019 ALA Annual Conference, Arlene Hopkins will join the Board as a Member-at-Large, Casey Conlin will join the Board as Coordinator-elect, and Matthew Bollerman will join the Board as SustainRT’s first dedicated ALA Councilor.

We wish to express our appreciation to these individuals for their commitment to this group, and what it represents, by taking on part of the work of keeping SustainRT moving forward.

Again, congratulations!



2019 SustainRT Travel Award Contest – Call for Submissions

The  Sustainability Round Table will offer a $500 travel award to reimburse* a SustainRT member who attends the ALA conference in June 2019.   Applicants should submit a blog post (500 word limit) or a video (2 minutes or less in duration) about the connection between sustainability and libraries. Submissions may be creative and should explore the applicant’s unique vision.

The requirements for the award winner are that they must:

  • Be a current SustainRT member. (Current SustainRT board members and Outreach Committee members are not eligible.)
  • Agree to write a short (250-500 words) blog post (link to our blog) about their experience attending ALA and/or how they think that the Sustainability Round Table can encourage and support library workers who wish to promote sustainability in their libraries and communities.

Entries are due by April 26, 2019. The winners will be notified in May and announced at the member meeting at ALA Annual. The winning submission will also be posted on the SustainRT Blog and other SustainRT social media. All entries will be considered for publication.


*reimbursement covers travel and/or lodging and/or registration and/or up to $45 per day in food expenses.

Not a SustainRT member? Join now! Log into your ALA Connect account and add us to your ALA membership. It’s only $10 to join!