Welcome from Our Chair

As Chair of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards Committee, I am excited to continue our mission through the extension of our       Coretta Scott King (CSK) Blog, which is dedicated to support the work of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards. The CSK Blog is designed to provide a forum for sharing information and committee work, announcements, events, interviews, speeches, readings, best practices, online resources, and celebrations specific to the CSK award-winning authors, illustrators, and books.

Since its beginning in 1969, the Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award has enlarged the prominence of children’s literature about the Black experience and heightened the work of its winning African American authors and illustrators.

Besides our CSK Book Award Jury, which also awards the John Steptoe New Talent Award, the committee work consist of the Virginia Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award Jury, and the standing committees (such as Archives & History; Book Grant; Nominating; Programs; Public Relations/Marketing; Publications; and Technology). Become a part of our movement and join the CSK Book Awards Committee by completing a membership form and volunteer form:  www.ala.org/csk.

This is an exciting time to merit the achievement and accomplishments of the CSK Book Awards Committee as we approach our 50th Anniversary Celebration in 2019. I am pleased to facilitate this important work and welcome any questions or comments you may have.

Claudette Shackelford McLinn, Ed.D.

July 2024