Welcome New SustainRT Steering Committee Members!

Welcome to the new SustainRT Committee Chairs and Steering Committee members!

This summer, SustainRT welcomed new members to both the Steering Committee and to the roles of Chair and Co-Chair to other standing committees. Please join us in welcoming:

  • Jenn Stayton from the University of North Texas, as our Secretary. She replaces Lisa Kropp of the Lindenhurst Memorial Library in NY, who moves into the Coordinator Elect position.
  • Casey Conlin of the Mid Hudson Library System in New York, assumes the role of SustainRT Coordinator. Uta Husson-Christian moves into the role of Past Coordinator, serving from Oregon State University.
  • Two new Member-at-Large terms began this year. Genee Bright of the New York Public Library, takes over the final year of a vacated term, while Vivienne Byrd of Los Angeles Public Library assumes a two year term.
  • Ed Garcia, from the Cranston Public Library  is the new liaison to the ALA Executive Board – an important position that helps keep SustainRT front and center within the ALA.

Matt Bollerman, CEO of the Hauppauge Public Library in NY, remains active as SustainRT’s ALA Councilor. And we are lucky to still have Marcia Bailey from the University of Michigan, serving as the Treasurer for another term.

SustainRT hosts six very active committees, and the Chairs and Co-Chairs of these committees engage members, move the work of SustainRT forward, and continue to keep sustainability in libraries at the forefront of our work. 

Kacper Jarecki of the Queens Library System, in NY, is back for another year of chairing the Booklist Committee. This committee publishes a “Top Ten” list of children’s books focusing on sustainable issues each year around Earth Day. They are also tasked with keeping the Zotero Library updated. The Zotero Library houses many articles, resources, and other information on sustainability that pertains to libraries.

Mandi Goodsett of Cleveland State University in Ohio, and Beth Stout of Indiana University East, chair the Outreach Committee. The committee does a fabulous job marketing the work of SustainRT, along with other sustainable information and resources across the field. They organize Facebook, Blog, Instagram and Twitter posts, along with posting to ALA Connect on behalf of SustainRT.

Laura Ploenzke of the Avon Lake Public Library in Ohio, returns for another year chairing the Governance Committee. This committee works closely with the SustainRT ALA Councilor, moving forward the Task Force on Sustainability recommendations, as well as ensuring that SustainRT has a voice with the ALA Executive Board.

The Online Education Committee welcomes new Chair, Sarah Joy Hrachovy, from the Concordia University Irvine. She will be working with committee members on a series of webinars for SustainRT members to help educate and guide us on sustainable practices and programs.

Tara Lingg of the Half Hollow Hills Community Library, in NY, takes over as the Chair of the Programming Committee. This committee ensures that SustainRT has quality, innovative and interesting programs and discussion groups at both MidWinter and Annual conferences.

The Membership Committee also has a new Chair – Britt Fagerheim, of Utah State University. With changes coming soon to ALA’s structure and membership base, this committee will be working hard to ensure that SustainRT has the minimum number (and beyond!) of paid membership necessary to remain an active roundtable within ALA.

With so much going on, there is always an opportunity to both join SustainRT if you aren’t yet a member, and to volunteer for a committee! In fact, the Steering Committee recently voted to approve a new Awards Committee that will administer the awards and citations of the roundtable, while supporting and promoting sustainability in libraries by recognizing exemplars and best practice in the field. Interested in learning more about serving on the Awards Committee? Email SustainRT Coordinator Casey Conlin at cconlin@midhudson.org for more information or to apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *